Our Governors

What do governors do?

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education.
Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards.

The role of the governing body is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and assistant headteacher's. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources. 

Each individual governor is a member of a governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.  

The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)
The Full Governing Body meets at least five times a year.

Alice Kupara
Alice Kupara
Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 17.03.17 - 16.03.21
Safer Recruitment Governor
Data Scrutiny & GDPR
Alex Onita
Alex Onita
Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 01.05.16 - 30.04.20
Financial Efficiency Governor
Simon Barnicoat
Simon Barnicoat
Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 15.03.18 - 14.03.22
Health & Safety Governor

Rebecca Smith


Alison Guscott

Parent Governor
Term of Office: 26.09.18 - 25.09.22
Mental Health & Wellbeing


Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 


Staff Governor
Term of Office:

Brenda Jeffery

Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 17.03.17 - 16.03.21
Child Protection & Safeguarding


Foundation Governor
Term of Office: 

Claire Bradford

Local Authority Governor
Term of Office: 30.10.18 - 29.10.22

Elli Harvey

Parent Governor
Term of Office: 05.12.16 - 04.12.20

Reverend Miles Pateman

Foundation Governor
Term of Office: TBA
SEND Governor

St. Michael's Church School
Constantine Drive
Stanground South

Mrs Rebecca Smith

Chair of Governors
Mrs Alice Kupara

School Office
01733 306778
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Monday-Friday  8.30am - 4pm

Breakfast & After School Club
01733 306779

7.45am - 8.40am and 3pm - 6pm

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account

Login with Office365